top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Inbar Shahak - Keeping it Real, Naturally

So, I realize I have taken a hiatus from posting, but a lot has been going on in my life. Unfortunately, a fire in my and my fiancé's (let's call him Adam) apartment building, caused us to move out post haste (and deal with a plethora of other fire-related issues one might expect). But, as we believe (and when I say "we" I'm referring to my fellow tribe members), everything happens for a reason, and happen it did! I am currently sitting in the most beautiful, haimish (another tribe term) pre-war apartment on the Upper East Side. I almost want to open my window and yell, "Hey Upper East Siders, Gossip Girl here!".

But enough about my Blair Waldorf-laden fantasies. I must tell you about my lovely conversation with the talented and innovative jewelry designer, Inbar Shahak. I had the pleasure of meeting her while she was exhibiting her collection at The Museum of Arts and Design's Loot exhibit. Inbar is a graduate from the prestigious Shenkar University of Fashion in Israel and taking what she'd learned from university and pairing it with her experience working at Calvin Klein, Inbar eventually decided to venture out on her own and I am so glad she did. She works tirelessly to make sure all of her natural textiles are lead, nickel and cruelty free, among other factors. She intricately and innovatively combines babushka-beloved pastimes (knitting, weaving and crochet) with new and interesting techniques such as metal printing. The result? Truly special pieces that are truly one-of-a-kind conversation starters!

Listen to the full interview:

bottom of page