top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Meet Neat


A collared shirt always adds a tad of sophistication to your outfit of the day...

...you can style it under anything, even a white tee and jeans...

...It can be an unexpected contrast of color...

...but on hot New York City summer days, I don't neccessarily want to wear a shirt under a shirt...

BAM!! Bet you didn't see that one coming! Neat collars give you all the sophistication of a collared shirt without any of the added lumpiness or bulk.

Meet the founders of Neat, Ido Kadmon and Hilla Yachimoviz:

When I came across Neat, I knew I had found the answer to my collared-shirt conundrum. Unless you are 5'10, lanky, have no boobulars, thus having clothes perfectly drape and fall on you, you too sympathize with my problem. Even if you are 5'10 and lanky, I'm sure wearing a button down shirt on a hot summer day is the last thing you want to do.

Hilla and Ido clearly understood this and also understood that women shouldn't be tied down to certain outifts because of the restrictions of the garments' construction. Israeli fashion has a very no fuss, effortlessly-chic vibe and this creative pair perfectly honed in on it.

I had the pleasure of interviewing this duo:

Sababa and the City: How did you two meet?

Ido: We met through a mutual friend, both of us were students. Hilla lived in Tel Aviv and studied cinema and screenwriting and I studied industrial engineering on a Moshav near Natania. After a few dates it was very clear that it was meant to be.

Hilla: After a year or so I convinced Ido to move to Tel Aviv, at first he didn’t really like the city – he grew up in a Moshav which is more quiet and calm. I came from Jerusalem so I was used to the city life. We moved in together, one thing let to another and we got married two years ago and we have our new baby, named Neat – only 4 months and so precocious!

SATC: Mazal Tov! So happy for you both. Do either of you have a background in fashion? How did you come up with this ingenious idea?

Hilla: I worked as fashion journalist and the editor in chief of a fashion magazine here in Israel for a few years - I was literally behind the scenes of the fashion industry. The idea to open a brand just popped into my head one day when I tried to find something to wear. I stood in front of my closet and thought to myself that I need to find something that can upgrade my wardrobe and realized that collars are the perfect solution – a little addition that can change the whole look. I told Ido about this idea and we decided to go for it. So, to your question, neither of us was a fashion designer but through the years I’ve learned the basics just from watching and asking questions as a journalist – it’s kind of like free school when you think of it.

Ido: We started to think and develop this product, consulted and used the services of many professionals in this field, from cutters to tailors until we found the perfect pattern for us and then Neat was born. Each one of us focused on a different section – I’m in charge of finance, logistics and technologies and Hilla is in charge of the fashion design and marketing.

Hilla: It’s important to say that we didn’t invented the collars - they exists for about 200 years and were very popular in Europe. The big difference is in the design, which in the past was like an apron and our collar vest is the pattern which we developed that dress like a vest. It is very comfortable, suit for verity of sizes and even looks good on your clothes

Hilla: It’s important to say that we didn’t invented the collars - they have existed for about 200 years and were very popular in Europe. The big difference is in the design, which in the past was like an apron and our collar vest is the pattern which we developed that dresses like a vest. It is very comfortable, suited for a variety of sizes and even looks good on its own.

SATC: So true! I've never seen collars that are similar to vests. What is each of your styles described in three words?

Ido: Our style in three words: Fine - our patterns are simple yet clean and accurate. Chic - Design aesthetic is not only clean but fresh and trendy. We pick the leading trends of the season that match our minimalist elegant vibe. Fun - The collar vests have an element of playing in your wardrobe, it’s fun to switch outfits and collars.

SATC: In what ways does the city of Tel Aviv inspire you?

Hilla: Though I’m originally from Jerusalem, the complete opposite of this city you may say, Tel Aviv is the one that makes me feel like I belong. This city is packed with chic neighborhoods and hidden gems, and that is why there are so many talented designers and creative people. I came here to study cinema and to become a screenwriter, but life just had other plans. I decided to be a journalist and then to open our brand. I think Tel Aviv had a major part of my life decision with it’s easy going pace, inspiration everywhere and the freedom to find yourself. And most importantly – though it’s not such a big town – every designer has a place here. That is why my greatest inspiration in this city is not only the beautiful Bauhaus buildings and the sea but also the people, knowing how to combine their day of work with eisure and culture in coffeehouses, galleries and shows. It’s definitely a city that never stops.

SATC: What does Sababa mean to you?

Ido: Sababa for us means positive thinking, optimism. It’s the Israeli way of saying “Hakuna Matata”.

A look inside the Neat studio:

Get your Neat collars here.

bottom of page