top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

What's Under Your Pareo: A Look into the Exotic and Aquatic World of Lea Gottlieb


I don't know how you feel on the topic of swimwear, but in my opinion, this area of fashion does not get the same TLC that other areas of fashion do, such as eveningwear, accessories, etc. When I'm shopping for a bathingsuit, it doesn't get any more complex than, "which color Lycra bikini am I getting today? (Or one-piece if I slacked on my latest attempt at a 30 day juice cleanse"). Sure there are also monokinis, high-waisted bikinis but for the most part, swimwear (to me at least) seems pretty blah.

Which is why I got so excited when I heard about the opening of the Lea Gottleib exhibit at the JCC Manhattan of the Upper West Side. As soon as I stepped into the perfectly curated gallery, my heart started to flutter, my jaw dropped and my preconceived notions of humdrum beachwear were put to shame.

The name Lea Gottleib is synonymous with Israeli fashion, more specifically the world of swimwear. Before starting her successful swimwear company, Gottex, Lea and her husband made aliyah to Israel from Hungary in 1949 and opened a similar raincoat factory to the one they had in Europe. When Lea noticed there was no rain to be seen, only sunshine, she and her husband founded Gottex. Exporting to 80 countries, Gottex has since become the leading Israeli swimwear brand.

I had the pleasure of speaking with the exhibit curator herself, Keren Ben-Horin. She told me that Lea's process was very unique and she was personally involved in every aspect. She did tons of historic research, went to art galleries and traveled all over the world for her inspiration. She then took the findings that inspired her and translated it into what would look good and work for swimwear. By not boxing herself in and letting only her imagination be her limit, she was able to create maillot magic.

In memory of the incomparable Lea Gottlieb (September 17, 1918- November 17, 2012).

bottom of page