top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Noa Raviv: A Designer Focused on the Future


I'm sure by now, you've caught onto the trends that will be prancing around the streets this spring and fall. It's all about the psychedelic, free-spirited 70's. Bell bottoms, suede and lots and LOTS of fringe. Talk about the ultimate #ThrowbackThursday. Not everyone has jumped (taken a trip) onto this 1970's band wagon (or Volkswagen hippie van in this case). Don't get me wrong, I love me a good fringe suede vest but there is an Israeli designer who is marching to a very futuristic drum and who's inspirations are very much coming from the here and now. Noa Raviv graduated from the prestigious Shenkar College of Engineering and Design and received the Fini Leitersdorf excellence award. (Only given to one graduate each year based on a display of creativity and originality in design). The young designer's jaw-dropping pieces have already been featured in Vogue Japan, Vogue Italia, Marie Claire Belgium and BBC News, just to name a few.

Utilizing 3D printing and the beauty of geometrical shapes, Noa Raviv has been making waves (literally speaking) in the world of Israeli Fashion and beyond.

I had the honor and opportunity to ask her a few questions:

Sababa and the City: Where do you get your inspiration?

Noa Raviv: It might sounds a bit banal but I'm inspired by art, nature and everyday objects. I like to observe and look for the beauty in the mundane and ordinary. But inspiration doesn't come overnight, for me it requires a long process of research, sketching and many tryouts. It involves a lot of hard work.

SATC: How was your experience at Shenkar College of Engineering and Design?

NR: Shenkar was a great experience. It's an amazing school and I got to learn so much about fashion, commitment and about myself. I took as many courses as I could (there is an incredibly wide range of classes to choose from). I think that 3D soft wares, tailored garments, and embroidery were my favorite classes.

SATC: What made you want to become a designer?

NR: It might sound naive, but I really believe design has the power to create a change and make our world a nicer place to live in. I'm just trying to contribute my small part.

SATC: Where do you think fashion is headed?

NR: I think it's going to be chaotic, fun and technological. All mixed in a fantastic way.

Find out more about Noa Raviv here.

Noa's graduate collection, Hard Copy that she presented at Shenkar.

Noa Raviv feels the future of fashion in the very core of her being and we can expect nothing less than originality and technology seamlessly blended into one-of-a-kind wearable works of art.

bottom of page